New York! New York! It’s A Wonderful Town!

Yeah, I’m a bit late, but to say I’ve been busy would be rather like calling Everest a hill.

RWA National is next week which means everything must be done ere I hie off.  I’m looking forward to seeing everyone, rekindling old friendships and making new ones, but the stress is killer.

Having been a Golden Heart® Finalist twice before, I’m already familiar with the added scheduling that comes with the honor.  This year, however, a few changes on the home front have added another element to the experience.

In the past, the conference offered an opportunity to network and chill.  Nice.  I passed on several requests, however, when the home situation deteriorated, knowing I would be unable to fulfill my part of the bargain if someone actually liked the work.  There would be time enough for submissions and the inherent demands on my time once things improved. 

The situation has changed, but not, as I’d once hoped, for the better.  I’ve been forced to accept that life may never again be as it once was.  As a result, my priorities have done a complete 180.  Passing is no longer an option

I’ll spare you the whys and wherefores.  Suffice it to say, the days of putting the writing after everything else have come to an end.  This is the year I learn whether or not I’m just a contest darling or if I have the goods it takes to make headway doing what I love to do.

So, this will be it until after National, folks.  My to-do list could circumnavigate the globe, and it won’t do itself.

I’m going all in and betting the farm on this conference.  Let’s hope three is a charm.

2 Comments

Filed under blog

2 responses to “New York! New York! It’s A Wonderful Town!

  1. Meg

    Love you Sister. Wish I could make it all go away (or just fix what’s broken). God Bless you both.

  2. You know I’d do the same for you, if possible. However, we just keep on keepin’ on. I think it’s the family motto. Love you back.

Leave a Reply

